Good Food, Fellowship Offered At Sacred Heart Family Festival

Daily Globe Staff Reporter

BETHLEHEM - Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic Church will be hosting the annual Sacred Heart Family Festival Sunday, July 24 with all the events and activities of years past. The Festival Advertising Chairperson, Katie Rietschlin stated, “there is plenty to occupy families and folks of all ages!”

This year’s activities include antique tractor display, remote control airplane demonstrations, kids game tent (closing at 6pm), putt putt golf, free throw contest, games of chance and instant bingo for adults, 5K run/walk, live animals attractions, mega raffle with large prizes and a reverse raffle with a $1,500 grand prize. There will be chicken and ham dinners and plenty of friendly people which Rietschlin said “which, in my opinion, are the best parts of our festival.”

The festival is put together with the help of the entire congregation. “Just about every adult in our parish contributes in some way, helping prepare food, setting up beforehand, working shifts at various events on the day of the festival, and cleaning up after.” All of the volunteers come from the parish and school community. “Every volunteer you will see at our festival is happy to do their part for Sacred Heart,” Rietschlin stated.

Last year the parish served 1,773 of the dinners and they continue to hope for a great turnout. The money raised from the festival is all contributed back to the parish school which has been in operation since 1837, according to Rietschlin. It is the oldest continually operating Catholic school in the Toledo Diocese. “Next year, we will be educating over 100 students in grades PreK-8. Our parish takes great pride in our school, and we all share in the mission of educating children and being partners with their parents in bringing them up in the faith,” said Rietschlin. The festival brings hope and finances to this goal for the school and the students.

Special Links

Twitter Feed

Menards Ad